There are settings that alter what users see in the Overview tab.
The following happens when these settings are changed:
Status and Type
These options change the default filtering displayed under User Overview. If you look at Overview you will view the same values in the filter fields on the top of the overview list. The user may change these filters.
This setting changes the default column in the Overview list that is used for sorting. If Name is selected then the Overview list will be sorted by Name when a user opens the tab.
This filter restricts which groups the user can see. Unlike Status, Type and Sort by, this option restricts the information that the user receives based on whether or not the user is an owner or member of said Team/Group/Site. A regular user cannot change it themselves.